#SAFTAs10-My favourite looks

I’ve been fortunate enough to be invited to #SAFTAs awards for the 3rd consecutive year and it was a great experience. Firstly I got “bragging rights” you know where you call your family and friends and tell them to switch to SABC 2? They would ask you why and you would smugly respond “I’m there..”. Last year I apparently made an appearance on the red carpet (I forgot to record it) so this year I ensured I stayed away. It’s not that I don’t like being on TV, well I actually don’t. We used to do production for TV and I was forced to be a presenter at one stage and whenever they yelled “action” I froze up, no action. I ended up presenting a classic car segment, which I absolutely loved but deep down hoped no one had ever seen.

I’ve done a post about my look for the #SAFTAs10 and how I dodged my heels midway through the evening but these ladies persevered, they’re professionals you know. I listed my best dressed on Twitter but I don’t want to leave those of you who DON’T follow me, out of the loop (it’s @Miss_Pretorius by the way)

1. Boity Thulo

Boity-Thulo

What I loved about this jumpsuit by Quiteria & George is the fact that 1. It’s a jumpsuit, 2. It’s black, 3. It’s got embellishment, 4. It’s revealing but classy and 5. The cape adds a lot of drama to it. I saw her before the event and she looked amazing! The only downside to this might have been people stepping on the cape or bathroom breaks.

2. Bonang Matheba

Twitterfa58f17

I know everybody loved her look from Mac Duggal (with diamante details) but I absolutely love this dress from Taibo Bacar. It fits her frame so well and the cleavage displayed doesn’t look trashy. I love the jacquard bottom paired with the beaded top and minimal accessories, her hair and makeup were on point, as usual.

3. Khanyi Mbau

Khanyi-Mbau

Khanyi looked regal yet demure in this lovely ensemble by Antherline Couture. I saw this up close and she really pulled it off well. I’ve come to admire her a lot as she came a long way from where she was (let’s not get into that) and she’s really working hard to establish herself as a serious actress.

4. Danine Naidoo

I think we’ve all watched Danine grow on Hectic9nine (a teen show on SABC2) where she was one of the hosts. She’s currently a TV Presenter for Edge (DSTV 190) and received a Safta nod for best presenter. I’m not sure if I would’ve loved this dress on anyone as much as I do on her. The funky hairstyle makes it look more playful whereas the dress screams sex appeal. This is one of her own designs I believe (D9 Line) and she definitely chose the right platform and model to show it off.

5.  Terry Pheto

Terry

Terry looked absolutely radiant in this Taibo Bacar creation.Her overall look was soft,demure and romantic with minimal makeup and a wavy,romantic hairstyle. I think the colour looks absolutely gorgeous on her and she looked like a modern day Cinderella.

6.  Minnie Dlamini

Minnie4

Sadly this was the only dress that Minnie wore that I actually liked. I’m a huge fan of Gert-Johan Coetzee but the Maleficent-inspired dress didn’t wow me nor did the pink floral one. The ombre one was not too bad but this gold grecian inspired dress was my favourite from Minnie for the evening.

7.Nomzamo Mbatha

Nomzamo

Nomzamo is a truly beautiful soul, just read her recent Twitter posts about depression (wiping away the tears). I love the pairing of the sheer,embellished top with the satin bottom. The “tail” just adds to the drama and the colour is really pretty on her. I would’ve loved for her hair to be tied up to showcase her beautiful face and smile but she makes the big hair work for her.

These are my opinions about these looks as they were my absolute favourites! Didn’t any of your favourites feature on here? Let me know in the comments who YOU think slayed it and who should’ve stayed home.

Leave a Reply

