Faffing around with Fifi (Competition)

To mimic the words of Albert EinsteinCreativity is intelligence having fun“,  and working with this lady has been all that and more.  I’ve worked with Refiloe Msithini from Fifi Jewelry Creations in the past and when launching my blog and page, who better to do a giveaway with? Let’s sit down and pick her brain a bit, competition details will be at the end of the post as well as on my page.

Mel: Please tell us a little bit about yourself

Fifi: My name is Refiloe Msithini, popularly known as Fifi and I was born and bred in Tembisa and currently reside in Kempton Park. I’m a daughter, older sister to 2 siblings, a wife and mother to 3 boys. 

Mel: Where did your love for jewelry designing originate from?

Fifi: I grew up with both my mom and grandmother wearing elegant jewelry pieces and I always wanted to recreate that. I used to play with their jewelry and put the old and broken pieces together to create something new until I learned how to create it from scratch. That’s how my love affair with jewelry began and it’s still going strong

Mel: What qualifications are required if someone wants to venture into this industry?

Fifi:  Creativity and passion was key for me. You also require the ability to pay attention to detail whereas if you create gold or silver jewelry you need a Goldsmith qualification

Mel: Where do you draw your inspiration from?

Fifi: Timeless elegance is key, the diversity of cultures in our country and most importantly, the talent that God has given me. 

Mel: What has been some of the challenges you’ve faced thus far and how did you deal with it?

Fifi: Starting out I used to underprice my product in order to establish myself and also because I only saw it as a hobby. After taking the decision to do it full time I had to price my pieces accordingly and immersed myself into being a good business woman. Some challenges are ongoing i.e. meeting with buyers, competitors, keeping up with trends etc. but I strive to provide a products of outstanding quality to my clientele. 

Mel: What has been the highlight of your career thus far?

Fifi: I attended my first craft fare in a nearby suburb and got to interact with my customers and network with fellow designers. It was amazing to hear the feedback from the masses and I returned home with an unexpected profit and the assurance that my journey has not been in vain. 

Mel: All work and no play…what do you do for fun or to unwind?

Fifi: I love spending time with my family and friends, attend social gatherings and just laugh(it;s healthy for mind, body and soul)

Mel: What is your biggest fashion DON’T.

Fifi: Leggings worn as pants and walking around in your morning slippers in the mall (I know they’re comfortable but it’s a big no)

Mel: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Fifi: I would love to have outlets nationwide stocking my products, dressing the who’s who  and teach women how to make jewelry to provide for their families

Mel: Tell me something about you that no one else knows

Fifi: As much as my work entails working with your hands, I don’t know how to sew (hides)

 

FifiFav

Competition details:

To stand a chance to win this headwrap worn by the boss lady herself, complete the following steps:

-Follow myself and Fifi Jewelry Creations on Facebook

-Follow me and Fifi on Instagram

-Follow myself and Fifi on Twitter

If you’d like to comment, don’t forget to use #winwithfifi

Good luck! 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Faffing around with Fifi (Competition)

  1. #winwithfifiNice article… wishing you guys all the best. Fifi, your work is amazing. keep it up, your birthplace is only just that… Where you were born. Who you become and how far you take yourself? well, that’s entirely up to you. Well done ladies

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

