YOU Spectacular 2016: Nominees

In most households across South Africa, often across the borders, you’ll encounter someone reading Huisgenoot or YOU. It’s a staple in the print circuit with Huisgenoot celebrating 100 years,despite technological inventions over the years, which shows you that sometimes old school is still the way to go. A lot of people still love the feel of actual paper, whether it is a magazine, newspaper or book and YOU/Huisgenoot provides us with just that.

The YOU Spectacular Awards, where they honour our favourite stars, are taking place this year on July 16 at Emperors Palace and promises to be another star studded event. The nominees have been announced and it’s up to us, as the public, to decide who our favourite is.

The categories and nominees are as follow:

Favourite TV Presenter:

  • Katlego Maboe (Expresso)
  • Lungile Radu (The Voice)
  • Leanne Manas (Morning Live)
  • Pearl Thusi (Lip Sync Battle)
  • Bonnie Mbuli (Afternoon Express)

Rising Star:

  • Fikile Mthwalo (actress)
  • Temba Bavuma (cricketer)
  • Shekhinah (singer)
  • Emtee (singer)
  • Timo ODV (singer)

Favourite Couple:

  • Jonathan Boynton-Lee and Jay Anstey
  • Janez Vermeiren and Juliana Vasconcelos
  • AKA and Bonang Matheba
  • JP and Sue Duminy
  • LeAnne and Sipho Dlamini

Sexiest Woman:

  • Minnie Dlamini
  • Lalla Hirayama
  • Shashi Naidoo
  • Lerato Kganyago
  • Minki van der Westhuizen

Sexiest Man:

  • Janez Vermeiren
  • Maps Maponyane
  • Lunga Shabalala
  • Bobby van Jaarsveld
  • Damian de Allende

Most Stylish Female Celeb:

  • Amanda du Pont
  • Nomzamo Mbatha
  • Rolene Strauss
  • Bonang Matheba
  • Dineo Moeketsi

Most Stylish Male Celeb:

  • Siv Ngesi
  • Katlego Maboe
  • Jonathan Boynton-Lee
  • AKA
  • Somizi Mhlongo

Favourite Actress:

  • Kgomotso Christopher (Isidingo)
  • Mimi Mahlasela (7de Laan)
  • Chi Mhende (Generations: The Legacy)
  • Jessica Nkosi (Isibaya)
  • Nambitha Ben-Mazwi (Doubt)

Favourite Actor:

  • Vusi Kunene (Isibaya and Generations: The Legacy)
  • Rapulana Seiphemo (Generations: The Legacy)
  • Atandwa Kani (Ashes to Ashes)
  • Thapelo Mokoena (Mrs Right Guy)
  • Jamie Bartlett (Rhythm City)

Favourite Sports Star:

  • JP Duminy
  • Wayde Van Niekerk
  • Itumeleng Khune
  • Cameron Van den Burgh
  • Kagiso Rabada

Favourite Music Star:

  • Mi Casa
  • Karen Zoid
  • Black Coffee
  • Kwesta
  • Bucie

Favourite Radio Personality:

  • Bonang Matheba (MetroFM)
  • DJ Fresh (5FM)
  • Tbo Touch (MetroFM)
  • Thando Thabete (5FM)
  • Redi Tlabi (702)

Favourite Comedian:

  • Tumi Morake
  • Trevor Gumbi
  • Deep Fried Man
  • Celeste Ntuli
  • Schalk Bezuidenhout

Social Media Star:

  • Bonang Matheba
  • Cassper Nyovest
  • AKA
  • Minnie Dlamini
  • Boity Thuli

For voting purpose the category would be the number eg. Social Media Star would be 14 and Minnie Dlamini would be D so to vote for her, you use 14d 

How to vote:

– SMS SPEC followed by the nominee’s code plus your name, surname and town or city to 33150 (for example, SPEC15a John Stewart, Durban).
– You may vote only 20 times for the same person. You may vote for more than one person in the same category. Each vote must be sent in a separate SMS and each SMS is R1.50
– Vote on their website
-Voting closes at midnight on Sunday 10 July.


  • Suzuki Ciaz 1.4 GLX MT sedan worth R234 900
  • Two Victoria bangles from Crystal Creations worth R1 250 each
  • Four ladies’ watches from Daniel Klein worth R1 195 each
  • Four men’s watches from Daniel Klein worth R895 each
  • Five shopping vouchers from worth R1 000 each

Information obtained from



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s