A few of my favourite things (skincare)

I’ve never had a set beauty regime in place nor do I have a list of holy grail products that I swear by. I’m all for trying out new things as long as I don’t have allergic reactions to it and it somehow improves my skin. This is a list of products I’m currently using and the reason I’ve decided to share it with you is because I’ve been asked by so many people what I use and I’m getting tired of repeating myself haha so next time I’ll just refer them to this post. My current regime somehow lightened my complexion, not sure if it’s supposed to do that but I am using it to get rid of pigmentation so if I have to look like I’ve seen a ghost to achieve that, I’m game.

IMG_2571.JPG

Yes, that’s Johnson’s baby shampoo and yes, I’m using it as a cleanser because it leaves my skin soft as a baby’s bottom plus it’s hypoallergenic as I have really sensitive skin. It’s amazing for makeup removal as well, I’ve read about it here first and decided to try it for myself. I got the soft and shiny range from Product of the Year and had no real use for it so I thought, what’s the worst that could happen? The worst that happened was that I currently sport soft and smooth skin so be sure to give it a try.

Next up was something I’ve been searching for a really long time, a good eye cream. I won this one from Beauty Bulletin with their #PepStart challenge and I’ve been using it for about a week now. It’s the latest eye cream from Clinique called pep-start in a bright orange tube and box and it promises to brightens and hydrate and give you a “wide awake and refreshed look” in 3 seconds. I can’t testify to the “wide awake” part because I have problems with my sleep patterns but it definitely helps me look refreshed and decent enough to face everyday life. It retails for about R300+ and is definitely worth every cent, try it, you won’t regret it.

The Pond’s range I also won from Beauty Bulletin sometime last year but I couldn’t use it immediately as I was on a different skin regime at the time. This Flawless Radiance range promises flawless skin in 7 days and I got just that. I have to admit that their serum are one of the best I’ve ever used and the entire range are really assisting me with my pigmentation. The day cream is perfect for oily skin as it has a matte effect but it works for me and my skin has never been oily in my life. Pond’s are one of those brands that has been around for decades and I can definitely see why people trust them.

Last but not least, a good sunscreen is imperative and not only in Summer. Winters in Johannesburg are funny in the sense that they resembles Summer so much, just a tad colder. The sun is still shining, not as bright but you still need protection from it. This SPF40 sunscreen from My Nimue journey… is definitely one of my favourites as it doesn’t leave a white residue on my skin as most sunscreens tend to do. I’ve been using it for a few months now after receiving it from Rubybox and I have to say I still like it very much.

My secret that I’ve learned from my granny is to wash your face in ice cold water, which I do religiously. I know most face wash, cleansers etc. requires lukewarm water but I don’t do that. Cold water leaves me refreshed and wakes me up as I’m not a morning person at all so I’ll stick with it.

Here’s a few pictures of what my skin looks like currently, unfiltered and I love it.

Leave a Reply

