Iman Cosmetics

I love makeup, like most girls do. I love the complete makeover that transpire once you have “your face” on, the confidence booster, the “I-can-do-anything” attitude that we often don’t realise we have…I absolutely love it.

I’ve been fortunate enough to be invited to the launch of Iman Cosmetics Africa‘s new E-commerce business site and what an amazing event it was. It took place at the picturesque Tintswalo at Waterfall  in Kayalami which proved to be the perfect backdrop with great music, people and food.

IMG_2736

The gorgeous Lizz Ferrett took us through the life of Iman, her inspiration behind starting her own line and the ease of mind the new site will bring about for makeup addicts. The story of why she decided to start her own makeup line is really inspiring as we all struggle to find a shade of foundation/lipstick etc. that would suit us and when she couldn’t, her entrepreneurial instinct took over. Launched in 1994, Iman Cosmetics offers skincare and cosmetics, including 16 foundation shades to African American, Asian, Latino and multicultural women with skin tones in a myriad of shades. It became the go-to range for women of color and are sold throughout the world including the United States, Canada, UK, France, Africa, and the Caribbean.

IMG_2756

We were treated to several how-to live tutorials and had 6 makeup artists on hand to assist with any questions we might have. I personally loved the BB cream as it’s lightweight with great cover and I actually found a shade that suited me perfectly. The lipsticks are absolutely divine, it’s semi matte but moisturizing while providing full coverage. I got Drama Queen and Diva and can’t wait to review it for you. The goodie bags consisted of jewellery from Miglio, lip palette, lipstick or lipgloss from Iman and a sample of the Asili hair and skin butter from Asili (I’ll do a post about their product range for natural hair soon). I don’t usually attend day time events due to my work schedule but I’m fortunate that I have a CEO that understands and supports my journey as a blogger. It was an amazing morning and I’ve met some incredible people, some that I’ve been interacting with on social media but never met in person. A special thank you to Pauline de Witt from Omega Cosmetics (Pty) Ltd for the invite and hospitality.

Head over to http://www.imancosmetics.co.za and shop to your heart’s content, overnight delivery guaranteed. 

Outfit of the day:

An event post won’t be the same without my outfit breakdown so here goes:

iman dress

Dress by Mili Jo by Michel Johannesson

Shoes by Rage

Jacket by Identity

Makeup (CC cream and lipstick)- Avon

IMG_2785

I love this picture so I had to add it 🙂

9 thoughts on “Iman Cosmetics

Leave a Reply

