I got Punked!

Those of you who follow me on social media might have noticed something different about me. If not, I don’t know how it could possibly be more obvious but I’m currently rocking rainbow hair! To be quite honest, it happened by mistake and it’s one of the best mistakes I’ve made thus far. I’ve won a hamper from Punked and decided on the Steel Grey as I’ve been contemplating dying my hair grey for quite some time now. I’ve used  Punked products before and absolutely loved it so there was no hesitation before using it again. In my previous posts I’ve mentioned that I’ve returned to my natural roots with minimum heat and no straighteners and relaxers. It order to achieve grey, you have to bleach your hair and that’s usually a scary thought for any naturalista. Not me though, I’ve used bleach from Punked before and it left my hair soft and manageable with no breakage.Their products are PPD free, vegan, they’re against animal testing AND they’re based in South Africa, what more can you ask for?

14017890_1216532631710731_1820536956_n.jpg

 

I could hardly contain my excitement when my goodies arrived as I was really keen on starting. They’ve included bleach, mixer, freeze spray (to seal in the colour), shampoo+conditioner (for aftercare), bleach, steel mask (for maintenance), steel colour, amongst others which was so much more than I’ve expected. Oh and there’s also an instruction leaflet in but you’re welcome to inbox them on Facebook as that has proven to be very helpful to me. If you’re unsure of the colour that you’d like, this might help you:

 

Punked.jpg

The bleaching process is always really exciting to me, don’t ask me why as I have no valid reason for that. The last time I’ve bleached using Punked was in March this year and my roots started showing, which provided me with a really cool reversed ombre look. The bleach process took me about 30-45 minutes but if you have help that time will be cut in half. You may leave the bleach on for 20-30 minutes, depending on how dark your hair is, and wash it off with shampoo, don’t condition. Blow dry your hair or if you’re anything like me, allow your hair to air dry (which will take longer but less damage). Mix your hair dye (you will receive an instruction leaflet with your order or have a look at their website) and apply, oh and don’t forget to put Vaseline on along your hairline and ears to prevent staining. Cover your hair with a shower cap and leave colour on for 90 minutes, wash it out with clear water and vinegar to set the colour and spray with your freeze spray before styling.

Mermaid 3

Steel grey is a toner and not a hair dye per se so the 90 minute rule don’t apply. It assists in correcting your colour when you go lighter with your hair but can be used to dye your hair grey. Remember to leave it in only for only 5-10 minutes or until you get the desired colour. I’ve left mine in too long hence the purple and blue tones but I love it! If you want to lift the colour a bit, which I did, just use a normal hot oil treatment, a clarifying shampoo or Gill shampoo to achieve the colour that you’ll be happy with. This pictures represent my current hair colour, I’m still planning on going grey but will follow the instruction more carefully this time.

Mermaid 2

Punked also sell contact lenses and are available in salons all over South Africa. For more information visit their website here or their Facebook page here

4 thoughts on “I got Punked!

    1. Thanks Claire, I didn’t think so either until I closed my eyes and went for it. If it can work for me, it can certainly work for you. I walk around still thinking I have black hair until I notice people are staring or they start calling me Khaleesi (I don’t watch Game of Thrones so at first I didn’t know who that was). My advice, just have fun with it, the Punked hair dye is amazing and won’t damage your hair and if you don’t like it, just use a hot oil treatment/clarifying shampoo to lift the colour.

      Like

Leave a Reply

