Review: Dark and Lovely Au Naturale

I’ve been looking forward to the launch of Dark and Lovely’s new Au Naturale range in South Africa as did every single naturalista I know. I’ve been fortunate enough to be selected by Beauty Bulletin as one of the lucky ladies to try out the Afro Moisturising Butter and Plaiting Pudding Cream and I couldn’t wait to start. Allow me to discuss the products one at a time as well as the hairstyle I chose to do with it.

Afro Moisturising Butter:

butter.jpg

I really liked the smell of this butter and the way it made my hair feel. It’s moisturising and doesn’t leave residue when rubbed in properly. It’s free of parabens, petrolatum, mineral oil and drying alcohol, which is a big plus for me. I did my bantu knots with this and absolutely loved the results! I’ve used this one a few times again and still love it, a bit more than the plaiting cream.

My results:

img_6504

Plaiting Pudding Cream

cream

It contains mango oil and bamboo milk which gives it a tropical scent and I love it. As with the butter, it’s free of parabens, petrolatum, mineral oil and drying alcohol and it provides a lot of definition to your curls. I washed my hair and applied the cream before I did the flat twist. I wasn’t really hapy with the results because my hair was still wet, which is my fault since I washed my hair after 8 pm.

My results:

twist

I’m definitely interested in investing in the entire range as Dark and Lovely has always been a trust hair care brand and they definitely make me feel #ProudToBeNatural.

Leave a Reply

