Nailed it!

I doubt most people would be flattered when asked “Are those real?” but I guess it depends what the enquiry is aimed at. In my case I hear that with my nails a lot and I love convincing people that they are indeed real. I don’t have an answer to the next question “what do you use?” as there’s no specific products or regimes I swear by. My nails are very strong…until they reach a certain length and get stuck to everything and that’s when I need to cut it.

I’m a DIY kinda girl,I do my own manicures and pedicures, not with the precision of a nail technician but it looks presentable. I just feel that I can spend that money on more important things like my mom, shoes or food. In the last 4 years I’ve probably had 2 professional manicures, yes 2 (I know, shocking). I’m always looking for new products to try and if it makes my life easier, why not? I personally think that there’s a few 2-in-1 products that’s a hit, like shampoo+conditioner and with nail care, 2-in-1 nailpolish (top and base coat combine). It’s cost effective and saves you time, mostly. I’ve recently tried out Essence 2-in-1 base and top coat that guarantees “last&shine” and I have to admit I like it.

IMG_9826.JPG
Used a base coat

As you can see I have a bit of discolouration on my nails, especially the ring finger and pinky, not sure why. I’ve decided on this 2-in-1 because, as a base coat, it promises to “protects from discolouration and gives extra grip on colour for a long lasting manicure.

IMG_9840.JPG
Used as top coat

It promises to, as a top coat “seal and protect your manicure with a glossy finish.” The problem I’ve had with top coats in the past is that it hardly ever ensure a long lasting manicure. I’d be lucky if I get 2 days of gorgeous nails out of it so I really hope that this one from Essence will live up to it’s promises. It’s available at Clicks at the Essence stand and would set you back about R40.

PS. The colour I’m wearing is  Avon nailwear pro+ in the shade “Untamed” and it’s one of my favourite shades at the moment.

3 thoughts on “Nailed it!

Leave a Reply

