Mask on,mask off [Pilaten mask review]

We’ve all seen videos of people using this mask. The utter pain they’re in when removing it, usually followed by cussing and screams for “mommy” always had me in stitches. I mean, can something, especially a beauty product,really hurt that much? If yes, why would you order AND try it after seeing how others are suffering?

I recieved the mask from Bianca over at AOBMBlog (you can check out her review) and decided to give it a try (after seeing all the videos of course). I have a really high pain threshold and an even higher tolerance for anything painful. I mean, a root canal was child’s play for me so how can this mask be worse? I decided to try it out on a weekend as you need to allow 20 minutes for the mask to dry and I don’t have that kind of time on a weekday or night.

About the mask:

The Pilaten Face Mask is one of the latest revolutions from the cosmetics industry. It is designed to pull blackheads and other skin impurities out from the root. Able to be used daily, it’s also recommend weekly or bi-weekly usage, to keep your skin clean and looking fresh, day in and day out. Please note that the fine hairs on the selected area will be removed with the mask when pulled off.

Ingredients:

Polyvinyl Alcohol (PVOH) is the magic in the formulation of the Pilaten Face Peel-Off Mask. This is the magic ingredient in the mask which binds it to blackheads and other skin impurities to grip them, and pull them out at the root. Glycerol is the lubricant that allows the POVH to get thin enough to stretch across the offending areas. Glycerol also provides extra moisture as it is hygroscopic, which means that it absorbs moisture and disperses it evenly.

Information by Rubybox

I found the mask to be a really messy business as it dripped all over the place. I used a foundation brush to apply it evenly as it really won’t work to apply with your hands. It’s advised to first steam your face to open your pores, which wasn’t an easy thing for me to do as I kept “choking” on the steam but I persevered. Before steaming, wash your face with a cleanser and rinse, then dab with a towel. Once you’re ready, start applying the mask evenly over your face and make sure to apply at least 2 layers to make removal easier. I only have blackheads on my nose and chin area but I applied to my entire face for pain research purposes. I neglected to take before and after pictures,sadly as I wasn’t planning on doing a full review on here. I did, however record a video that you can view on Instagram, my handle is @miss_pretorius_

 

My verdict:

The mask really take about 20 minutes to dry, seriously. It also removes fine hairs from your face and as Chewbacca over here, I can tell you that as a fact. The pain, however doesn’t even register as a 2/10 on my scale. I flinched a little as the mask met with my ‘babyhair” but that was the extent of my pain. It left my skin smoother and blackheads were removed, as promised. I will use it again, if only in the hope to scream blue murder and call for my mommy in time 😛

Where to buy:

You can buy your mask here and prices range from R35 per sachet and R220 for a 60g tube. It’s also available from your nearest Alpha Pharm store

