My Elgydium experience with Rubybox

What is the one thing that most people envy about celebrities except their money and seemingly perfect lives? Their seemingly perfect, white teeth of course. Why else would people be making a killing with whitening toothpaste? A new one seem to spring up every week ranging from charcoal activated to whitening kits. I have to admit I’m one of those people who used to buy every whitening toothpaste on the market, tried home recipes like bicarb and lemon etc. but were never quite satisfied. I’ve always had crooked teeth and wouldn’t change that for anything, well maybe I would if it was a painless procedure, who knows? Aside from being crooked, my teeth are very sensitive so I can’t just use any toothpaste and the ones specifically made for the condition, are usually twice the price of normal toothpaste.

I’ve received the Elgydium Whitening and Brilliance & Care toothpaste from Rubybox and used it over a 4 week period. Firstly, allow me to say that before I’ve done the trial of these products, I’d think twice about spending R60 on toothpaste in the current economic climate but this range changed my mind.

Teeth
This was taken before I embarked on the journey.

Let’s have a look at the two tubes of toothpaste I’ve received:

Whitening Toothpaste  RSP R59.99 (75g)
According to Rubybox;

Elgydium Whitening Toothpaste is specially formulated with patented micro-pulverised sodium bicarbonate to remove stains gently without damaging enamel. It can penetrate into the tiniest of enamel furrows for an in-depth cleansing and a gentle polish. Gentle enough to use daily.

• Prolongs whitening after professional whitening treatments

• Stain-removing properties clinically proven

• Active ingredients: micro-pulverised sodium bicarbonate, chlorhexidine digluconate 0.004%

• Crystal diameter of bicarbonates is 5 times finer than other bicarbonates making it less abrasive on teeth and gentler on gums

• Chlorhexidine digluconate acts against plaque and infection

I love this toothpaste and could definitely feel and see a difference after 2 weeks. I generally stay away from products that stains my teeth as I don’t drink coffee and I hate red wine (yes, I said it!) but I do drink a lot of fizzy drinks and often forget to floss so there’s that.The awesome thing is, like the homemade remedy, this toothpaste also have bicarb in but it’s less yucky.

 

Brilliance and Care Whitening Toothpaste RSP R69.95 (30g)

According to Rubybox;

Anti-Stain visibility after 2 weeks*. Fast and lasting results reported by 90% of subjects* Recommend to use twice a week in conjunction with Elgydium Whitening Toothpaste.

•Active ingredients: bamboo, mineral silica & 1350 ppm fluorinol

•Whitening treatment plan–to be used twice per week in conjunction with regular whitening toothpaste

•Highly polishing formula that removes residual stains

•Fluorinol to ensure remineralisation of tooth enamel

•Polishing the dental surfaces while respecting the integrity of the enamel

*Test of safety and effectiveness carried out under dental supervision on 52 subjects for 28 days, using the product 3 times a day. Measured in MMLSI scale.

Satisfaction test carried out on 52 subjects after 28 days of use 3 times a day (% of subjects giving a rating out of 5))

To be quite honest, I didn’t like the taste of this toothpaste as it made me nauseous every time I had to use it. We received a schedule as to how to use these 2 in conjunction with each other to get the optimum results and this toothpaste had to be used every 3rd day. The awesome part of this toothpaste is that it assist in reducing the appearance of stains on your tooth and I can attest to it.

 

FullSizeRender
After

 

I’m really happy with the results and will definitely invest in this products again as I’ve realised that they work best together. I’m not sure if I’d get used to the taste of the Brilliance & Care toothpaste and the fact that there’s no foam but the results will convince me to.

Products are available from Dischem and Clicks

2 thoughts on “My Elgydium experience with Rubybox

Leave a Reply

