One night with Tamia

Childhood dreams do come true, sometimes in an unexpectedly spectacular way. I got to take the person that introduced me to Tamia’s music to see her live in concert and I think I’m sorted for all future birthday and Christmas presents. It was a magical night and if you’re in Durban and Pretoria, you will experience it soon.

Kicking off the evening was Kitchen Mess and though it was my first time experiencing their music, it was definitely the perfect start to the evening. Classics like Gangster lovin’ were giving a uniquely South African flair and we really enjoyed it.

When I found out that Lloyiso will be opening for Tamia, I was elated. I am a big fan of his voice and first started listening to covers he did and have a playlist on my phone exclusively for his music. I am really happy that he performed Speak, Seasons, and Intliziyo as these are my absolute favorite songs by him. His energy was very electric and the crowd absolutely loved his performance. He ended his performance with Easy on Me by Adele, which is one of my favorite covers that he had done so far. I will say though, I would love to see him in a more intimate set-up with minimal instruments where the focus is just on his voice. I’ll keep an eye out for his Cape Town shows that will have a set-up like that in the future.

Images courtesy of Glen 21’s Facebook taken by @onair_ent

Tamia looked absolutely amazing, first of all. Wearing all black, with touches of silver, which is my favourite colour palette, if I can’t wear all black. It was also the colour palette for my outfit for the concert, coincidentally. I stepped out to top up on drinks so I’m not 100% sure which song she opened with but the first song I heard when walking back in was Still. In my previous post, I mentioned that it’s my current favourite and I’m so happy that it was the first song I heard live.

She also performed Almost, Make tonight beautiful, Careless Whisper, You put a move on my heart, Love me in a special way, This time it’s love, Never gonna let you go, Rain on me, Officially missing you, Missing you, So into you, You put a move on my heart, and Stranger in my house, amongst other songs. She also did a rendition of Maxwell’s This women’s work and Cece Winans’ Tomorrow. She ended off the show with Who do you tell and we were definitely left wanting more as I really hoped that she would perform Me.

People exiting the arena had their own little concert outside and still continued singing her songs after the show ended.

Overall, this was an amazing experience that 9 year old me never thought I would have and I’m so utterly grateful. Thank you Tutone Communications, this definitely made my year!

Images courtesy of Glen 21’s Facebook taken by @onair_ent

Leave a comment