A night with Boyz II Men and Joe

“If he/she doesn’t know who Boyz II Men and Joe are, they’re too young for you.”

I’ve always been a huge fan of Boys II Men and Joe and was very excited when I heard they’ll be performing in SA, together! For those of you who have experienced heartbreak, you’ll agree with me that there’s no better music to listen to than these artists. If they can’t get you through your time of mourning, no one can 🙂 I remember a time in Grade 10 when I had this enormous crush on our head boy and the only thing that helped me through the period of unrequited love was Bended Knees, End of the road, Hard to say goodbye to yesterday, No one else come close, Good girls, etc. At the time we still used a cassette player (damn I’m old!) and we played it on repeat. For those of you who don’t know who Boyz II Men and Joe is (were you born under a rock? seriously?) here’s a low down on these phenomenal artists starting with Boyz II Men:

BoysIIMen

Boyz II Men is an American vocal group best known for emotional ballads and a cappella harmonies. Formerly a quartet featuring Michael McCary, they are currently a trio composed of baritone Nathan Morris alongside tenors Wanya Morris and Shawn Stockman. They’ve been active in the music industry since 1985  ( a whopping 30 years!) and their music speaks for itself. They gained international success during the 90s that began with the release of their number one single “End of the Road” which reached the top of charts worldwide. It set a new record for longevity and stayed number 1 on the Billboard Top 100 for 13 weeks, breaking the record set by legend Elvis Presley. They proceeded to break records with the releases of “I’ll make love to you” and “One sweet day” ft Mariah Carey.  As of 2015, “One Sweet Day” still holds the all-time record with 16 weeks at the top of the Hot 100. Other hits of theirs that took the number 1 spot include “On Bended Knees” and “I’ll make love to you”. Their most recent studio album, Collide was released in 2014

Next, we introduce Joe (born Joseph Lewis Thomas):

Joe

Joe is a singer-songwriter and record producer, who’s skilled in vocals, piano, keyboard, and acoustic guitar and has been on the R&B scene since 1992. His breakthrough album, “All That I Am” with hits like “I don’t wanna be a player” was released in 1997 and went platinum in the U.S. Joe appeared on the track, “Thank God I Found You” with Mariah Carey and it became a #1 hit on the Billboard Hot 100. In April 2000 he released “My Name is Joe” with hits like “I Wanna Know” and “Stutter” that reached the top 5 on the US Billboard Hot 100. He released 6 albums between 2000-2007 that included songs like “More and More” written by R. Kelly and “Ride with You” featuring G-Unit. In total, he has released 11 albums thus far and received numerous BET, Grammy, and Soul Train nominations. His best work for me thus far has been “I Wanna Know”, “No One Else Comes Close” and “Good Girls” because all of these take me back to my boarding school days when we were allowed to have a “disco” on weekends and you couldn’t wait to slow dance with your crush to his songs.

The great news for South Africans is that Boyz II Men and Joe will be performing their greatest hits live on our soil! This tour is brought to you by Massive Events Live in partnership with Smart Billion Investments, B3, Mzanzi Magic, Khaya FM, and THL Africa. The tour details are as follows:

Cape Town (CTICC)-11 December 2015

Durban (Moses Mabidha Stadium)- 13 December 2015

Johannesburg( Ticketpro Dome) – 15 December 2015

Tickets range from R395-R1750 and doors open from 17h30,the show starts at 19h00 and will last for 4 hours. Get your tickets now and take a trip down memory lane with me (obviously, I will attend in JHB so holla when you see me)

2 thoughts on “A night with Boyz II Men and Joe

Leave a comment